Saturday, April 16, 2011

Derwent candidates named

FIVE candidates have nominated to contest the 2011 Legislative Council election to fill the seat of Derwent following Michael Aird's early retirement. The candidates are, in alphabetical order as named by the Tasmanian Electoral Commission yesterday:

BINGLEY, Phillip (of New Norfolk, environmental health officer) Tasmanian Greens
BRANCH, Jenny (of Claremont, manager, teacher assistant, alderman) Independent
FARRELL, Craig (of New Norfolk, electorate officer, deputy mayor) Australian Labor Party
FLINT, Deirdre (of Hollow Tree, local government elected member), Independent
WILLIAMS, Ray (of New Norfolk, retailer) Independent

Names on the ballot paper are rotated and may not appear in this order. If a candidate has been nominated by a registered party, this will be indicated on the ballot paper. Electors who cannot get to a polling place on polling day (May 7) must vote early. This can be done by post or in person during normal business hours at location including the Australian Electoral Commission, 2fd floor, NAB House (formerly AMP Building), 86 Collins St, Hobart. Pre-poll voting can also be done at any Australian Electoral Commission office around Australia and at Bridgewater after Easter. Postal vote applications are available at any post office or electoral office or online at or by calling 13 23 26.

An electronic system to assist vision-impaired electors to vote independently will be available during the pre-poll period and on polling day. For more details call 13 23 26.

Please note: By law, comments relating to the election must include the given name, surname and locality of the writer. Anonymous comments cannot be published during the election period. 

No comments:

Post a Comment