Monday, September 26, 2016

Council audit panel inaugurated


Audit Panel Inaugural Meeting Held

23 September 2016

Mayor Martyn Evans announced that the inaugural meeting of the Derwent Valley Council Audit Panel was held on Tuesday 20 September 2016. Membership of the committee comprises of:-

  • Mr Robert Hogan, Chairman
  • Mr Gary McCarthy
  • Councillor James Graham
  • Councillor Julie Triffett

In March 2016 the Council invited expressions of interest for membership of the panel. Following the review of the expressions of interest received, the Council appointed Councillor James Graham and Councillor Julie Triffett to the committee. In addition the Council also determined the following persons to be appointed as independent parties.

Mr Robert Hogan retired after over 14 years as Waverley Council’s Divisional Manager of Governance and Integrated Planning in New South Wales. Up until July 2013 he was a member, and chair, of Audit Committees for the Boorowa, Cowra, Harden and Young Councils in New South Wales. Mr Hogan is currently a member of a number of Tasmanian council Audit Panels.

Mr Gary McCarthy is a successful executive with operational, business development and commercial experience, most recently through a large Government Business Enterprise. Mr McCarthy has a strong analytical focus and 14 years experiences as a finance executive, across a wide range of businesses.

Authorised for general media distribution by Greg Winton, General Manager, Derwent Valley Council on 23 September 2016.